School Council

The School Council is a legally constituted body representing the school community and makes decisions on its behalf.
The Council consists of eleven members – the principal, seven elected parent representatives, two elected employees of the Department of Education (i.e. staff members) and one community co-opted member.

Members are elected for a period of two years with half the council positions falling vacant each year. The elections of School Council members are held early each year usually late February or early March.

The School Council meets on the second Monday of each month in the school staffroom. (Members of the school community are encouraged to attend meetings).

Duties of the School Council include the following:

  • Determining educational policies within government and Department of Education guidelines
  • Maintaining the school buildings and grounds and planning for their future development and improvement
  • Promoting and maintaining the school’s positive image
  • Consulting the community on school related issues
  • Managing the school’s finances